And then, and then

And then she said, “Please.  I need your help.”

And then he said, “No, you can make it on your own.”

And then she said, “You don’t understand.  I know I can’t make it on my own.  I know I will fail.”

And then he said, “I can’t always be there to help you.  You must learn to be independent.  You must learn to help yourself.”

And then she said, “Maybe I’m not, maybe I can’t, maybe I don’t have it in me.  Can’t you see that I’m begging you for help.”

And then he said, “I’m leaving you now.  I can’t be a part of your self destructive behaviour.  Do it alone.  Be a grown up.  Be independent.”

And then he left.

And then she cried.

And then she sat up straight and took a deep breath.

And then she knew that being independent meant it was okay to need help.

And then she called her friend.  “I can’t do it alone.  I’m falling into the far reaches of my mind and my mind is going to win.  I need your help.”

And then her friend said, “I’m here.  Don’t worry.  I’m always here.  Your mind won’t win.”

And then she smiled.

And then she felt safe.

And then she felt independent, in her own way.

And then….

And then…

About laurengowing

I read prose. I write prose. I don't really read poetry, but sometimes I write it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

