16 Questions

I found this questionnaire on hitrecord.org (Great site, sign up if you’re feeling creative) and I thought I’d post it here as well.  I thought it was interesting and asked some good questions.  Comment with your answers please!  Or post a link to your answers on your blog!

1. Who are you and what do you do?

 I am a 30 year old girl living in Toronto, ON.  I work as an admin assistant at a pharmaceutical company.  I write.  I read.  I love words.

2. What’s the origin of your artist name?

 My artist name is my name.  I always wondered what I would go by if I was ever published.  Some women change their names.  I could be L.B. Gowing, so no one would know i was female and men would read my book.  I think I would go by Lauren Bethany.  So everyone would know I’m female and hopefully everyone would still read my book.

 

3. What has been your biggest challenge with your art so far?

 Making excuses.  Using my weaknesses as a reason to sleep instead of write.  Being distracted by meaningless things.  Fear.

 

4. Who or what is your biggest influence?

Everyone who writes, whether it be well or not. Whether I agree with what they are saying or not.  If they create something that means something to them, I admire that.  Also, artists who are genuinely good people.  I have met many who are not.  I have come in contact with some who make me want to turn away from their art because I don’t like who they are as people.  Neil Gaiman comes to mind as a great talent and a great person.

 

5. What is your wildest story?

 It wouldn’t be real.  I live in fear, I write wild stories.  My wildest story happens always in my head.  I will one day live a wild story and tell you about it.

 

6. What is the last book you read?

I want to sound cool.  I want to talk about “The Raw Shark Texts” by Steven Hall and talk about how amazing it is.  And it is.  But I’ve only read 150 pages.  I stopped reading it to pick up a dystopian Young Adult trilogy by Ally Condie called MATCHED because I have a terrible love for all things YA.  So I’m not cool.  I’m reading something that is years below my reading expertise.  And I love it.  

7. If you could be any character in fiction, who would you be?

Hermione Granger.  She is the perfect combination of someone with a great and solid head on her shoulders, someone who is full of strength, but still knows the importance of love.  She is beyond intelligent and always makes the right decisions.

8. What couldn’t you live without?

Words.  They are my solace.

 

9. What is your secret talent?

No secret talent.  Barely any unsecret talent.  Barely any talent.  Sometimes I believe I can sing.  Sometimes I imagine myself on a stage with screaming fans.  Then I remember I’m me.  That’s sort of a secret.

 

10. Tell me about the last dream you remember having?

I dream crazy dreams every night.  They are usually full fledged horror stories within themselves.  Someone chasing me, me chasing someone.  Friends dying.  It’s all very graphic and horrible.  It’s all very terrible.  But in the dream, I am aware it is a dream and I feel no fear.

 

11. What are you craving right now?

Importance.

 

12. What was the last song you fell in love with?

Hozier – Take me to Church

 

13. Can you hula hoop?

In Theory

 

14. What do you like?

Books.  Dogs.  Hiking.  Being outside.  The Ocean.  Sleep.  My niece Isabelle (More then anything else in the world)  

 

15. What do you dislike?

People who are fake.  People who tell me to be happy when I’m not happy.  People who tell me there’s nothing to be afraid of when the whole world is terrifying.  Olives.

 

16. What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

Remember to Breathe – Gregory Maguire

About laurengowing

I read prose. I write prose. I don't really read poetry, but sometimes I write it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

